Sports. Politics. Culture. UNFILTERED.

Sound and Groove - Al Green: Left Out of the Essentials

By 1973, there was no bigger soul star than Al Green. Just when the Memphis-based soul scene looked played out and all but spent as a commercial force as the 70's dawned, green emerged from a little known record label called hi records to revive the sound. With Willie Mitchell as a writing and production guide, a string of smash hit singles and LP's resulted over the next 7 years- though the hot streak wavered by the end with the advent of disco.

Track Listing:

Intro- "Off The Wall" by Michael Jackson (1979)

1. It Won't Be Wrong- The Byrds (1965)
2. Washington Bullets- The Clash (1980)
3. Free At Last- Al Green (1973)
4. The Little Things (My Baby Does)- Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1978, released 2010)
5. And Your Bird Can Sing- The Beatles (1966)
6. Blue Days, Black Nights- Buddy Holly (1956)
7. If You See Her, Say Hello- Bob Dylan (1975) 
8. You Still Believe In Me- The Beach Boys (1966)
9. The Rain Song- Led Zeppelin (1973) 

Outro- "Working Day And Night" by Michael Jackson (1979)